Clean Christmas Pudding

Christmas Pudding

Christmas pudding is one of those marmite foods. You either love it or you hate it. I personally love it. It remind me of Christmas as kids when my dad would pour brandy over the pudding and set fire to it creating a beautiful dancing blue flame.

I always thought Xmas pudding would be complicated to make but I’ve managed to put together this super simple version! Don’t be put off by the long ‘heres how’ list. It’s actually really really easy.

The worst part is having to wait 3 hours for it to steam! But this beauty is gluten free, dairy free, refined sugar free and can be made without egg to make it fully vegan.

I’ve used lemon rind and juice instead of orange. Although orange would be the traditional choice I find my skin isn’t too keen on it. (Always avoid oranges, orange rind and orange peel if you struggle with eczema.)

I love the addition of cherries. They’re one of my favourite fruit and although the fresh ones are expensive at this time of year, the frozen ones are in all the big supermarkets and really quite reasonable. You can also add chopped nuts and seeds depending on preference.

INGREDIENTS

3 x apples

Chunk of ginger

1 lemon

500g mixed fruit (raisins / sultanas etc)

Handful of frozen cherries

100g chopped dates

100g ground almonds

50g coconut oil

1 egg

Ground nutmeg

Ground cloves

Ground cinnamon

Optional – pecans / walnuts / almonds / brazil nuts

HERE’S HOW

Grate the rind of the lemon and add to a bowl with the mixed fruit and cherries

Juice the apples, ginger and half the lemon and pour the juice over the mixed fruit stirring well. Mix in a teaspoon of nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon and leave to soak. The longer the better although I constantly lack time and patience so I’d only left it for an hour this time. Overnight would be best to really plump the fruit

Blitz the coconut oil, chopped dates, ground almonds, maple syrup and egg at high speed to ensure its well combined into a smooth batter

Spoon the soaked fruit into the batter. Don’t worry if you spoon some of the juiced apple and ginger with it. Stir well and add any nuts or seeds (optional)

Add more spices to the mixture if you prefer a stronger taste. The fruit, maple and almonds should make it sweet enough but add more maple syrup if you prefer a very sweet flavour

Spoon the mixture into a Xmas pudding bowl. My mother is very good at saving bowls from previous years so I used one of those. I grease the bowl with coconut oil to ensure the pudding doesn’t stick. Cover the bowl with foil and place an elastic band around the foil to hold it in place

Fill a saucepan half full with water and bring to the boil. Place the pudding bowl carefully in the pan and simmer for 3 hours. You will need to keep topping up the water over the hours

Turn off the heat and allow to cool before lifting out. Remove the foil and place a plate over the pudding bowl. Tip upside down and carefully squeeze each side so that the pudding comes out smooth

Spoon over a little maple syrup to serve

If you prefer your pudding piping hot on Xmas day I’d recommend boiling for 2 and a half hours and leaving the final half hour until the day

Gluten Free Xmas Pudding

2 thoughts on “Clean Christmas Pudding

  1. greensofthestoneage says:

    You little legend Hanna! This is so beautiful and I’m soooo impressed at how clean it is! Making me feel guilty at my massive bowl of fruit soaking in alcohol right now haha. I hope you have a lovely Christmas with this beautiful pud ❤ xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

