Sweet Potato Rosti Breakfast

cutting egg

Having spent much of last month working on a raw food yoga retreat in Chalabre, France – chia pudding and fresh juice breakfasts have become a bit of a default option. Not a bad one! They’re easy to make and super nutritious, and I do have this habit of falling in love with a recipe and making it endlessly for a week or two until I get bored.

Much as I would love to, I can’t take full credit for this mornings recipe. This sweet potato rosti with poached egg is entirely the work of my lovely friend Vaughn – with me as sous chef (kind of!) I am fully aware of how potentially awkward my diet is – most of the time I’m endlessly reeling off foods I can’t eat! This breakfast just proves that limiting food for health reasons does not mean restricting flavours and colours. Give these a try over the weekend I guarantee you will love them!

poached egg

INGREDIENTS (makes 2 servings)

1 medium sweet potato

1 large onion

3 eggs

Drop of white wine vinegar

Salt and pepper

3 tablespoons coconut oil

HERE’S HOW

Peel and grate the sweet potato and onion. Squeeze any excess moisture from them.

Use a fork to beat one egg, add it to the potato mix and season with salt and pepper

Spoon the mixture into a pancake ring or cookie cutter. Use your fingers to compress everything and gently push out the formed rosti

Heat 3 tablespoons of coconut oil in a heavy base frying pan and carefully lift the rosti into the hot oil

Fry for a couple of minutes until the underneath is golden brown. Carefully turn and repeat on the opposite side. Do the same with the second rosti

Place both rostis into a preheated oven for 20-30 minutes at 200oC until baked through

In the meantime boil a pan of water with a drop of white wine vinegar and poach two eggs

Serve with an extra twist of salt and pepper. I’ve used garden thyme flowers.

potato rosti

One thought on “Sweet Potato Rosti Breakfast

Leave a Reply

