Benefits of a Bright Breakfast

fruit

This mornings breakfast happened by default! I go through real phases with my food … once I fall in love with something I’ll happily eat it everyday for a week, then I’ll find a new favourite.

I’m back on my breakfast pancakes at the moment. They’re my preferred option when I’m travelling, training and without my green juice. No matter where in the world you are it’s usually pretty simple and inexpensive to source bananas and eggs, and thats essentially all you need. Aside from heat and a frying pan! And it’s the heat element (literally!) that’s lacking today.

Overnight storms have resulted in a loss of power. So it’s back to basics for me. A lovely fresh fruit platter and small tub of granola with almond milk. As breakfasts go it’s hardly a poor substitute!!

I’m sure you don’t need me to tell you how to chop fruit and arrange it on a plate. But here are some specific health benefits these bright beauties provide which make them a delicious breakfast option or sweet snack

Pineapple ~ the most wonderful thing about pineapple is its content of an enzyme called bromelain, which is superb at repairing muscle damage, alleviating joint pain, reducing inflammation and inhibiting tumour growth

Mango ~ apparently the most widely consumed fruit in the world. Some of the health benefits of consuming mango include a decreased risk of macular degeneration, a decreased risk of colon cancer, improvement in digestion and bone health and improvements in skin and hair health

Plums ~ one fresh plum contains 100 mg of potassium, a mineral that helps manage high blood pressure and reduce stroke risk. If that isn’t brilliant enough, the bluey-reddish pigment in plums, called anthocyanins can protect against cancer

Raspberries ~  a powerful source of polyphenols such as anthocyanin, flavonols and ellagitannins, which have shown potential in animal and human studies for preventing or reducing risk of chronic diseases such as cancer and heart disease. Raspberries are also being studied for their ability to reduce obesity and type 2 diabetes

Banana ~ the health benefits of consuming bananas include lowering the risks of cancer and asthma, lowering blood pressure, improving heart health and promoting (for want of a better term!!) … regularity

Melon ~ one of the most hydrating, alkaline fruits we can consume. I love melon! Their high water content helps ward off dehydration so they’re perfect for warm, sunny breakfasts

Almonds ~ the more I learn about almonds, the more I love them! Aside from their creamy, vanilla taste, they’re the most alkaline nuts we can eat. Full of good oils they pack a ton of energy in their small form

Figs ~ forget milk for calcium … the humble fig is where it’s at! I love fresh figs on salads but they’re not always in season and turn ripe to rotten very quickly if you don’t use them! So dried are a great storable option

Dates ~ natures candy! I have a real sweet tooth at times and dates fulfil those cravings beautifully. Plus the date fruit provides wonderful benefits for the heart, brain, and colon

Leave a Reply

