Garlic & Ginger Fan Mushrooms + Greens

garlic and ginger mushrooms

I used to be really terrible at cooking fresh, nutritious meals for myself. Especially if I was eating alone. It’s all too easy to grab a takeaway or some processed rubbish when you live on your own. Now I no longer make excuses! I eat freshly prepared meals using freshly sourced ingredients each and every day. Wherever I am, whoever I’m with.

When I’m at home with a cupboard full of staples it’s much easier to put together something super tasty. When I’m travelling it’s not always as simple to create something outstandingly beautiful, but that’s not to say you can’t get the correct combination of proteins, greens and nutrition in a dish that tastes awesome.

My fortnight in Portugal is all about getting triathlon fit. Most of us tend to add a little extra weight over winter and I’m keen to get back on track with high protein and lots of greens. Whilst this dish isn’t something you’d readily find on a restaurant menu, it actually tastes great, it’s brilliantly filling and it combines lots of healthy, alkaline greens with protein rich shrooms. I’ve used what I’ve called ‘fan’ mushrooms. Those large flat ones shaped like a fan. I’m sure they have an official title but my Portuguese is poor to non existent. Please feel free to advise me in the comments 🙂

INGREDIENTS (serves 2)

100g of button mushrooms

6 large ‘fan’ mushrooms

Chunk of ginger

3 cloves of garlic

2 pak choi

2 large handfuls of spinach

Salt, pepper and dried garden herbs

Fresh lemon

HERE’S HOW;

Heat a little olive or coconut oil in a frying pan. Add the mushrooms, chopped garlic, thinly sliced ginger and some seasoning. Warm gently and stir throughout to ensure the shrooms are evenly coated in oil. Leave to cook gently through.

Heat a pan of water until it’s boiling, then turn it down to simmer and pop in the pak choi. Boil for 5 to 10 minutes. You want to cook the pak choi a touch but it should stay crisp and tender. Switch the heat off and add the spinach leaves to the pan, they’re only going to need a minute or two to wilt slightly. Sieve them out and drain the water from them, sprinkle a little fresh lemon juice over them and a small pinch of salt.

Plate the spinach and pak choi and spoon on the mushrooms, drizzle more lemon and serve warm.

pak choi mushrooms

2 thoughts on “Garlic & Ginger Fan Mushrooms + Greens

  1. anoekreintjes says:

    That looks delicious, I am looking for some flavourful vegetable recipes and this looks great with all the herbs, garlic and ginger. I have never really used ginger, but I am very excited to try some.

    Like

    • Hello I'm Hanna says:

      Ginger is just wonderful! It’s anti everything … anti fungal anti viral and anti inflammatory 💛 I juice it, cook with it and cut chunks into a mug with fresh lemon and hot water to create a delicious detox tea. Oh and it tastes awesome too!! Thanks so much for taking the time to comment ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

