Krenten Brood met Spijs

krenten broet

My mother is Dutch. Although my sister and I grew up in the UK, we’d often go over to Holland to visit my grandma and many cousins. I loved my grandmas house. It was always warm and cosy with a pan of hot soup bubbling away. Breakfast was like something out of a hotel with a zillion choices on the table. And far from the boring jam and toast or cornflakes we would settle for at home, morning meals in Holland were like a feast!

Muisjes and haagel slag were amongst my favourites! Basically sugary sprinkles to pour over buttered toast, creating a warm chocolatey mess. I loved vla too, it was like a cold thick custard. But one of my favourite things by far was krenten brood met spijs. Krenten Brood literally translated means Raisin Bread. And that’s exactly what it was. BUT the important part was the ‘met spijs’ bit. ‘Met spijs’ meant the bread would have a round of almond paste running right through it’s centre! There were times when the baker would run out of the ‘met spijs’ loaf, and I’d feel cheated to slice the end crust off to find it was just plain old raisin bread. First world problems eh.

So, here is my healthy version. Met Spijs, obviously.

spijs broet

INGREDIENTS

100g spelt flour

50g ground almonds

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

100g dates

100g raisins

Handful of sunflower seeds

Handful of pumpkin seeds

Sprinkling of flaked almonds

A jug of warm water

FOR THE SPIJS

100g ground almonds

50ml manuka honey

HERE’S HOW;

Add the flour, baking powder, dates and ground almonds to your food processor. Crack in two eggs and slowly blitz together. You will need to pour in a little warm as the mixture spins. You want to create a dough that’s sticky but not pourable.

Once your sticky dough is formed, stir in the raisins and most of the pumpkin and sunflower seeds, leaving a few to decorate the top of the loaf.

To create the almond paste, simply blitz the ground almonds and manuka honey together.

Line a loaf tin with baking paper greased with a little coconut oil to stop the bread sticking.

Spoon half the bread dough mixture into the loaf tin, create a channel down the centre running lengthways but not completely to the end. Fill the channel with almond paste. I actually find it easier to roll the paste into a long sausage of marzipan and lay it into the channel.

Spoon the remaining bread mix on top and sprinkle a few seeds and flaked almonds on top. Bake in the oven for 45-55 mins at 150C

The top of the bread will turn golden brown, place a skewer through to check it’s baked, but remember the almond paste inside will stay soft! Remove from the over, cool and slice.

spijs loaf

4 thoughts on “Krenten Brood met Spijs

  1. anoekreintjes says:

    I love the way that you describe your experience in Holland. I used to be obsessed with the spijs as a child. I never liked the bread so I took a spoon and ate all the spijs out of the entire bread. My parents weren’t so happy about that :). I might make this bread for my family with Easter. Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello I'm Hanna says:

      Hello Nian ~ so lovely of you to take the time to message 🙂 I LOVE almonds … they’re alkaline and so good for my skin! I use ground almonds, whole almonds and almond butter in SO many things! I’m really happy you found my blog too xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

