Cumin Crisped Curly Kale

cumin seeds kale chips

I’m so fortunate. Since transitioning to a fully clean diet my body actually craves green veg! Seriously. I could quite happily eat a bowl of steamed broccoli on its own and really enjoy it! There’s only one green vegetable I’ve never been all that excited about and that’s kale. I find it tough, the stalks too woody and it always gets left at the back of the fridge until eventually I juice it before its past its sell by date.

So, this week I’ve been on a real mission to fall in love with kale. Surely there has to be something I can do to it to make it palatable? Well … not only have I succeeded, I think you’re going to love this recipe so much you will actually crave more! Seriously, Cumin Crisped Kale is addictive ~ you have been warned πŸ™‚

cumin kale

INGREDIENTS

1 bag of kale

3 tablespoons of tahini

2 tablespoons of coconut oil or extra virgin olive oil

juice of half a lemon

2 teaspoons of cumin seeds

1 teaspoon of garam masala spice

2 large pinches of himalayan salt

cumin kale chips

HERE’S HOW;

Trim any thick, large stalks from the kale.

Add the ingredients and spices to a large mixing bowl and use your hands to massage everything into the kale leaves. Make sure they’re as evenly coated asΒ possible.

Spread the coated kale leaves flat onto a baking tray lined with a sheet of greaseproof paper.

cumin and kale

Place in the oven and bake for 10 mins at 150C (fan assisted) before removing the tray, mixing the leaves around a little and putting it back in the oven for a further 10 minutes. I don’t like my leaves burned as it really detracts from the spices, so keep a close eye on those last 10 mins and remove the crisped kale before it starts to over-brown.

Once evenly crisped remove the kale and eat while still a little warm. SO addictive!

cumin on kale

6 thoughts on “Cumin Crisped Curly Kale

  1. Elaine Smith says:

    Thank you Hanna, yet more inspiration and I’m pleased that I’ve found something to use my Tahini in which has been in my cupboard a while

    Like

    • Hello I'm Hanna says:

      I love these Elaine and I’m just the same with Tahini! I open it to make hummus and then pop it in the fridge and wonder what else to do with it. It does actually work great in some sweet recipes (good reminder to make more of those with it!!) but these kale chips are just heaven πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for taking the time to message ❀

      Like

    • Hello I'm Hanna says:

      Hey Kaz ~ I’m so forgetful with putting oven temps sometimes! I use fan assisted too and I bake at 150C. 10mins, then shake around a little, then a further 10mins keeping a close eye on them! I’ve updated the post ~ thanks so much, let me know how they bake πŸ™‚ x

      Like

    • Hello I'm Hanna says:

      Oooh I’m looking forward to you trying it too πŸ™‚ I think the key is making sure the leaves are nice and evenly covered and to keep an eye on them to ensure they don’t over cook! I might have to make them this evening now πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

