Chocolate Banana Sushi

banana sushi

The pistachios look so pretty & bright

Cheesecake was probably my dinner party dessert of choice in the PJ (pre-juice) days. Whilst it’s still high on the favourites list (albeit the RAW blueberry cashew & date version) I’m experimenting with other ideas which appear as stunning on the plate as they do on the palate. For me the beauty of food is as much in its presentation as its flavour. I love being creative visually. There is as much to admire in the look and the contrast of colours, as there is in playing with textures and tastes.

I’ve come to realise just how reliant I am on my food processor back home. I’m staying with my friend Craig in Cyprus at the moment. He doesn’t have a food processor. Neither does he have baking sheets, cake pans, loaf tins or muffin trays – so pretty desserts are set to be a challenge!

banana sushi roll

So simple, yet stunning at dinner parties

Taking time out abroad always reminds me of how fortunate we are, in terms of food choice, in the UK. We’d be hard pushed to find the vast array of ingredients so easily available to us year round anywhere else in the world.

INGREDIENTS

2 Bananas

100g Dark Chocolate

Tsp of Honey

1/2 Tsp of Coconut Oil

25g Crushed Pistachios

I love the colour contrast and bright pistachios

I love the colour contrast and bright pistachios

Ingredients-wise I’m keeping this dessert simple. The magic is in the combination of colours and its quirky presentation. Creamy white bananas, rich dark chocolate and the bright greens and purples in crushed pistachios.

Melt the chocolate gently in a glass bowl over a pan of boiling water. I’ve added coconut oil and honey which should make the consistency more fluid. Remove from the heat a little while before serving to allow the liquid to solidify slightly. You don’t want it too runny.

Place the pistachio nuts between two paper towels. Using a rolling pin (or hammer!) crush them until they’re mostly fine (some larger pieces won’t matter). Remove the bananas from the fridge and using a tablespoon, gently coat them in melted chocolate. The cold temperature of the bananas should encourage the chocolate to set without too much running off, but if it does, keep spooning it back over until it’s cool enough to set.

Sprinkle the crushed pistachios over the bananas and place in the freezer to fully set. Move your dessert from the freezer to the fridge a few hours ahead of serving to ensure the banana isn’t frozen.

Banana Dark Chocolate Sushi

Pretty and delicious

I’m a little low on props out here but how awesome would this sushi roll look, served on Japanese Imari plates with bamboo chopsticks? Aahhh, another excuse to remake this dessert when I’m back home!

Leave a Reply

